RMRI, LLC.'s Blog

Private Investigations Blog

A New Era In Private Investigations

leave a comment »

It has been a while since I have done anything with this blog. Often enough, in a business that stays busy; it can be tough to find the time to blog. However, it seems that Microsoft has made blogging fun again with their new Wave 3 Live Products.

I am going to TRY to keep this blog current, but I won’t make any promises. I stay pretty busy, and I am not complaining at all; but I am saying that if I “slack off” a little, give me a break since I am trying to earn an honest living.

Speaking of earning an honest living, let’s get down to what this post is all about. In the title you’ll notice the phrase “A New Era In Private Investigations”; well what I am writing about here is the “Digital Era”. Believe it or not, as young as I am (41 years old); I do remember a time when the only way to get anything done in the P.I. Business and/or the Fugitive Recovery Business entailed starting a car and driving, and wearing out some shoe leather. Now-a-days one can do as much from the comfort of their office, sitting at their computer in a day, then a P.I. could do in a week just 15 years ago. It is a very interesting evolution that the investigative profession has gone through.

Right now I can find a witness in a criminal defense investigation from my computer, obtain their phone number from my computer, call that witness and do a recorded preliminary interview from my phone, that recording will be stored on my server and can be downloaded to a CD, or remotely accessed from anywhere in the world. I remember a time when the only way a preliminary interview could be conducted was to go get in your car, drive to the library and go through MASSIVE amounts of materials (phone books, cross reference directories, news articles, etc., etc.), then go to the court house and scour criminal dockets, civil dockets, property documents at the Register of Deeds, just to try to get an address of the witness, and usually you got 5 to 10 addresses and you had to go to each one to find your witness, and then once you found your witness you had  to take notes or lug along a cassette recorder the size of a shoe box to get your statement. Yes, there is a new era in Private Investigations in deed.

It behooves anyone in the Private Investigations business to learn how to use the current technology to make their work easier, and to enhance the quality of their work. And most Private Investigators know this and are becoming more and more “digitally adept”. For the “old timers” that want to hang onto their file cabinets, one thing can be said; no matter what tools are taken away from the Private Investigation industry they will NEVER be ineffective. However, it is nice to find a Private Investigator that understands both worlds.

Rick Gurley

Risk Management Research & Investments, Inc. & Thoth Data Systems
Mailing Address: 2101 W. Broadway PMB 326, Columbia, MO. 65203
Office Address: 1 E. Broadway Suite Z, Columbia, MO. 65203
Direct Office Number: (573) 234-6876
Office Phone: (573) 234-4647 Ext. 110
Car Phone: (573) 529–0808
Cell Phone: (573) 398-0024
Toll Free Phone: (888) 571-0958
Toll FreeFax: (877) 795-9800
EMERGENCY LINE: (573) 234-4871

RMRI, Inc. Websites
(1) http://www.rmriinc.com
(2) http://rmriinc.bestcyberinvestigator.com

RMRI, Inc. Blogs
(1) http://rmriinc.blogspot.com/index.html
(2) http://rmriincspace.spaces.live.com/

Written by Rick Gurley

September 18, 2008 at 6:47 PM

Leave a Reply

